Waiting, still – the 4th Sunday of Advent

Advent 4 candlesThe 4th Sunday of Advent finds me in an unusual position. It seems I have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, and I’m in the midst of a big flare up right now. Should I even be typing now? Probably not, but I am. Bonus for you – I will be brief.

In any case, with shopping not quite finished, with not a single card written or mailed, gifts not yet wrapped, I find myself in the position of having to essentially sit still. If I were listening to someone else, I’d think about how God has given them a gift – time to just be. Does it feel that way to me? Well – not so much. It is mostly a challenge to receive this gift.

Christmas is not here yet, we are still in Advent.  This is reflected in the playlist on my phone, where songs of Advent have sustained me on this journey. No Christmas music just yet. Yesterday my music helped me to sit still,  I had a retreat on my sofa; praying, listening, surrendering, pondering – waiting, still.

If you can take a few minutes today, to sit still, please try to do so. God is in the waiting, even – perhaps most especially, when it does not feel that way.

The beginning of Advent coincided with the anniversary of the death of George Harrison. This got met thinking about his song, My Sweet Lord. Listen to that profoundly plaintive cry of wanting to see God! Along with other songs, I hear this one as a prayer this Advent, and today I hear it again, waiting still.

And soon enough, we shall.

5 thoughts on “Waiting, still – the 4th Sunday of Advent

  1. I think God, in his infinite sense of humor, has decided that the only way to slow us down is to afflict us and MAKE us!!! In addition to your wrist, He tweaked my sciatic nerve and, when that didn’t stop me enough, he inflamed my bronci and lungs!! Christmas will come, as it does every year, and we may not be “ready”. But we will have slowed down a bit and had an Advent!

    Peace, Linda http://duchessofrome.blogspot.com/ http://www.picturetrail.com/theduchess facebook.com/linda.reid1. “Where is the wisdom we have lost in knowledge? Where is the knowledge we have lost in information?” -T.S. Eliot The Rock

    >

    Like

  2. I hope you feel better soon, dear Fran! As for wrapping gifts and sending cards, I haven’t either, and I don’t have carpal syndrome…
    Thank you for the George Harrison song. I have always loved it.
    xoxo

    Like

  3. Am I the only one who thinks George Harrison looks a bit Jesus-y in this pic?? As for carpal tunnel, I ward off that pain with acupuncture and exercises from a book titled, (amazingly) Conquering Carpal Tunnel Syndrome and Other Repetitive Stress Injuries (http://amzn.to/1JEjGjS). With you on the no Christmas music…yet. I titrate in the decor (e.g., tree without decorations until 12/24…or 23). Hope you feel better soon. Nerve pain is very ouch.

    Like

  4. The counter-cultural is often where Jesus is to be found. Hope you are back to balance soon, Fran. Gentle soft tissue massage and sofa retreats highly recommended 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.