Laudato Si’ you soon!

PopeQuote0615-e1434644573760Yesterday I spent far too much time reading *about* Laudato Si, and not enough time reading Laudato Si. Add to that, many feelings and emotions about the Charleston church shooting, the fire at the church of the Loaves and Fishes, and about a million other things.

I’ll be making my way through the encyclical and I will offer some thoughts and reflections about the document and what I think it means to all of us. Here are a few initial thoughts….

1. We have to explore all parts of the encyclical, and not just the parts that appeal to us. Notice I say explore – meaning opening our hearts and minds and not reacting immediately. (Although what great temptation!) For example, that a Muslim mystic is referenced (Footnote 159, Paragraph 233) is as important as what is found in paragraph 120, regarding abortion.

2. Unbridled capitalism is as bad as communism.

3. That everyone is likely to find something that they disagree with in the encyclical tells me that God is truly present and as challenging as ever.

4. We all basically need to drastically revise how we live. How likely is this? Yeah, that likely.

5. Reread #1 above.

6. Keep breathing. Go deep. Ask more questions rather than give more answers.

Laudato si you soon! I’ll be back with more.

